

© Copyright 2008 by the American Chemical Society and the American Society of Pharmacognosy

Volume 71, Number 1 January 2008

## Editorial

## **Changes for Volume 71**

I would like to bring to the attention of our readers two new initiatives in 2008. First, in keeping with the great interest in the *Journal of Natural Products* internationally by our readers and contributors, the membership of the Editorial Advisory Board has been expanded from 24 members to 30 members with effect from Volume 71 (January 2008). Accordingly, we are welcoming six new members from regions of the world not previously represented, and consequently we now include prominent natural products scientists from 13 countries in six different continents. Second, in common with other journals published or copublished by the American Chemical Society, we have recently migrated to the "ACS Paragon Plus Environment" manuscript submission system, which we hope will be more user-friendly than that used previously. Previous contributors to the *Journal of Natural Products* should be able to log on to this new system with their current Paragon User ID and Password.

During the past few years, we have published a number of special issues dedicated to leading natural products researchers, and these have attracted considerable interest. In March of 2008, we will honor Dr. G. Robert (Bob) Pettit of Arizona State University, and the first of two cover illustrations in Volume 71 is reflective of his work on the combretastatins. The photograph used for the January—June 2008 issues features the African bush willow tree (*Combretum caffrum*), the source of combretastatin A-4, a natural product modified structurally to form the prodrug sodium combretastatin A-4 phosphate. The latter is now in advanced clinical trials as an anticancer agent with tubulin assembly inhibitory and vascular-disrupting activities. We have previously featured two compounds of marine origin isolated by Dr. Pettit's group on our cover, namely, dolastatin 10 (January—December 1997) and spongistatin 1 (July—December 2002). For the remaining months of 2008 (July—December), our cover illustration will feature the work of Dr. Rogelio Pereda-Miranda, of the National Autonomous University of Mexico, on the complex constituents of the resin glycoside of the sweet potato (*Ipomoea batatas*).

Each year, we provide our "Guidelines for Authors", which are updated annually and available both in hard copy in the journal issue each January and on our Web page (http://pubs.acs.org/journals/jnprdf/index.html). Included among several points for manuscript preparation are the instructions for graphical content. It would be much appreciated if authors could examine critically all artwork (inclusive of chemical structures) before manuscript submission, to ensure that these items are of high quality and clarity. For example, arrows should not be drawn too close to one another, and small numerals used to number carbon atoms of molecules should not come into contact with bonds. Also, it is strongly recommended that before submitting papers authors should download recently published contributions from the journal, in order to check that their manuscript conforms to the necessary journal format.

In 2001, the Arthur E. Schwarting and Jack L. Beal Awards were introduced for the best papers in the *Journal of Natural Products* and are named after two former editors of this scientific publication. Once again in 2006, two outstanding papers published in the journal were selected by a process involving the journal editors and an ad hoc committee constituted by the American Society of Pharmacognosy. The coauthors of the paper chosen for the Schwarting Award (open to all authors) were Lesley S. Sheehan, Rachel E. Lill, Barrie Wilkinson, Rose M. Sheridan, William A. Vousden, Andrew L. Kaja, Gary D. Crouse, James Gifford, Paul R. Graupner, Laura Karr, Paul Lewer, Thomas C. Sparks, Peter F. Leadlay, Clive Waldron, and Christine J. Martin (*J. Nat. Prod.* 2006, 69, 1702–1710). In turn, the coauthors of the Beal Award contribution (submitted by a younger

investigator as corresponding author) were Kevin Tidgewell, Wayne W. Harding, Anthony Lozama, Howard Cobb, Kushal Shah, Pavitra Kannan, Christina M. Dersch, Damon Parrish, Jeffrey R. Deschamps, Richard B. Rothman, and Thomas E. Prisinzano (*J. Nat. Prod.* **2006,** *69*, 914–918). These authors are to be warmly congratulated and thanked for their outstanding contributions! On the Web page of the journal, open access is provided for all winning papers of the Schwarting and Beal Awards since their inception, including the articles mentioned above.

**A. Douglas Kinghorn** *Editor-in-Chief*NP0780203